Voir les témoignages à propos de ce site
et donner le votre
Memospace site de partage de lieux historiques
Work began on the barrage de l'Aigle (Eagle Dam) in 1935, and finished in 1945. Also called the Resistants' Dam, it housed the Army Resistance Organization during the the Second World War. The resistants held up its opening to avoid giving the occupying an power additional power source. Its bold architecture makes it a unique work of majestic dimensions, at 290 meters long and 90 meters high. As from the construction of the sixth production site in 1982, it has been the most powerful site on the Dordogne, at more than 360 MW, enough electricity for a year for a city of 130,000 (Limoges or six times Aurillac).
Source: Offices du tourisme de pays de Mauriac et de Haute-Corrèze.
- Civil resistance