Saint-Étienne

Mémorial de la Résistance et de la Déportation de la Loire

The Resistance and Deportation Memorial opened  in 1999 to encourage values held dear by its founders, Resistants and deported persons: commitment, Living-Together, and the struggle against discrimination and every form of extremism.

After its opening and the passing of the last witnesses, the Memorial has taken on a genuine legitimacy on the period of World War II with help from Université Jean Monnet and the Municipal and Départemental Archives.

In a constantly-evolving world, and taking account of the interests of youth, it has opened onto the problems of today’s world, putting current events in perspective and calling attention to the lurking... Read more

See photos
Information

Coordinates

Address : 9 rue du théâtre , 42000 Saint-Étienne
GPS Coordinates : 45.4356619 , 4.386349300000006
Phone : 04 77 34 03 69
See on map
Visits
Permanent exhibit :
Self-conducted visit
Price :

3€, gratuité sur justificatif

Guided tour
Price :

5€/adulte, 30€/groupe-classe

Temporary Exhibit :
Self-conducted visit
Price :

Gratuit

Recurring events

The Memorial has research, artistic and cultural programming around three major dimensions: the European Heritage Days in September, the Live-Together Days in January, and the Week Against Racism in March.

Practical information
Opening days and times :
From January 4 to July 20, 2017: Closed Saturday and Sunday. Closed on bank holidays. Monday to Thursday 9am-12am and 1:30pm-5pm, Friday 9am-4:30pm. From August 21 to December 22, 2017: Closed Saturday and Sunday and bank holidays. Monday to Thursday 9am-12am and 1:30pm-5pm, Friday 9am-4:30pm.
Yearly closure : Closed bank holiday, from December 24 to January 2 inclusive and from July 15 to August 20 inclusive.
Themes and resources
Themes
  • Memorial
  • Maquis
  • Rescue
  • Fighting
  • Free groups
  • Liberation
  • Civil resistance
  • Deportation
  • Repression
  • Collaboration
  • Forced Labor Department
  • Bombings
  • Liberation
  • Loire
Resources
  • Documentation center
Complete description of site

The Resistance and Deportation Memorial opened  in 1999 to encourage values held dear by its founders, Resistants and deported persons: commitment, Living-Together, and the struggle against discrimination and every form of extremism.

After its opening and the passing of the last witnesses, the Memorial has taken on a genuine legitimacy on the period of World War II with help from Université Jean Monnet and the Municipal and Départemental Archives.

In a constantly-evolving world, and taking account of the interests of youth, it has opened onto the problems of today’s world, putting current events in perspective and calling attention to the lurking danger of excesses.

A place for sharing and culture, the Resistance and Deportation Memorial calls upon numerous partnerships to encourage reflection and citizen involvement in all its projects. 

Nearby Sites

Saint-Étienne

Mémorial de la Résistance et de la Déportation de la Loire

Inauguré en 1999, le Mémorial de la Résistance et de la Déportation de la Loire porte et diffuse les valeurs chères à ses fondateurs, Résistants et Déportés : l’engagement, la promotion du Vivre-Ensemble, la lutte contre les discriminations et toutes formes d’extrémisme.
Depuis son ouverture et la disparition des derniers témoins, le Mémorial a acquis une véritable légitimité sur la période de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, avec l’aide de l’Université Jean Monnet, des Archives Municipales et Départementales.
Devant un monde en constante évolution et face aux... Lire plus

Voir les photos
Informations

Coordonnées

Adresse : 9 rue du théâtre , 42000 Saint-Étienne
Coordonnées GPS : 45.4356619 , 4.386349300000006
Tél :

04 77 34 03 69

Voir sur la carte
Ressource(s) supplémentaire(s)
Livret pédagogique
Visites
Exposition permanente :
Visite libre
Durée : 1h30
Tarif : 3€, gratuité sur justificatif
Visite guidée
Durée : 2h
Tarif : 5€/adulte, 30€/groupe-classe
Exposition temporaire :
Visite libre
Tarif : Gratuit
Mode(s) de paiement :
Espèce, chèque
Offres et évènements récurrents
Le Mémorial dispose d’un programmation scientifique, artistique et culturelle qui gravite autour de 3 grands rendez-vous annuels : -Journées Européennes du Patrimoine (septembre) -Journées du Vivre-ensemble (janvier) -Semaine contre le racisme (mars)
Informations pratiques
Jours et horaires d'ouverture :
Du 04/01 au 20/07/2017. Fermé samedi et dimanche. Fermetures exceptionnelles les jours fériés. Du lundi au jeudi 9h-12h 13h30-17h et vendredi 9h-16h30. Du 21/08 au 22/12/2017. Fermé samedi et dimanche. Fermetures exceptionnelles les jours fériés. Du lundi au jeudi 9h-12h 13h30-17h et vendredi 9h-16h30. Du 02/01 au 31/12/2018. Fermé samedi et dimanche. Fermetures exceptionnelles les jours fériés. Du lundi au jeudi 9h-12h 13h30-17h et vendredi 9h-16h30.
Fermeture annuelle : Jours fériés, du 24/12 au 02/01 inclus, du 15/07 au 20/08 inclus.
Site office du tourisme :
http://www.saint-etiennetourisme.com/
Thématiques & ressources
Thématiques
  • Mémorial
  • Maquis
  • Sauvetage
  • Combats
  • Groupes francs
  • Libération
  • Résistance civile
  • Déportation
  • Répression
  • Collaboration
  • Service Travail Obligatoire
  • Bombardements
  • Libération
  • Loire
  • Génocide
  • Mouvements de population
Ressources
  • Centre de documentation
  • Expositions itinérantes
Services
  • Restauration à proximité
Description complète du lieu

Inauguré en 1999, le Mémorial de la Résistance et de la Déportation de la Loire porte et diffuse les valeurs chères à ses fondateurs, Résistants et Déportés : l’engagement, la promotion du Vivre-Ensemble, la lutte contre les discriminations et toutes formes d’extrémisme.
Depuis son ouverture et la disparition des derniers témoins, le Mémorial a acquis une véritable légitimité sur la période de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, avec l’aide de l’Université Jean Monnet, des Archives Municipales et Départementales.
Devant un monde en constante évolution et face aux préoccupations des jeunes générations, il s’est ouvert aux problématiques du monde contemporain. Il met ainsi en perspective les événements de l’actualité et dénonce les dangers des dérives toujours présentes.
Lieu de partage et de culture, le Mémorial de la Résistance et de la Déportation de la Loire s’appuie sur de nombreux partenariats pour susciter la réflexion et l’engagement citoyen dans chacun des projets qu’il mène.

Lieux à proximité