Caluire et Cuire

Mémorial Jean Moulin

On June 21, 1943, one of the most tragic events of World War II happened in Caluire et Cuire, in Doctor Dugoujon’s house. Jean Moulin, the personal representative of General de Gaulle, head of the United Movements of the Resistance and President of the National Resistance Council, was arrested by Klaus Barbie and the Gestapo, along with seven other Resistants in charge of the Secret Army in the southern zone, including Raymond Aubrac. The outcome of the arrest was tragic: Jean Moulin was tortured and died while he was being transferred to Germany.

Doctor Dugoujon’s house, which became the Jean Moulin Memorial in 2010, is registered as a National Historical Monument... Read more

See photos
Information

Coordinates

Address : 2, place Gouailhardou , 69300 Caluire et Cuire
GPS Coordinates : 45.79937735 , 4.84622444086548
Phone :

04 78 98 85 26

See on map
Visits
Permanent exhibit :
Guided tour
Duration : 1h
Price :

2€ (gratuit pour les habitants de Caluire et Cuire, les mineurs et les anciens combattants)

External memory itinerary :
City walks in Caluire et Cuire based on homages to resistants and maquisards in public spaces (street names, commemorative plaques, monuments).
Recurring events

European Heritage Days (free entrance & guided city walks)

Jean Moulin Caluire & Cuire exchanges (pluridisciplinary exchanges around Republican values)

Practical information
Opening days and times :
Open on Thu.: 9 am-1 pm and Sat.:1 pm-5 pm. (on (booking recommended). Closed on bank holidays.
Themes and resources
Themes
  • Memorial
  • Maquis
  • Deportation
  • Repression
  • Internement
  • Rhone
Complete description of site

On June 21, 1943, one of the most tragic events of World War II happened in Caluire et Cuire, in Doctor Dugoujon’s house. Jean Moulin, the personal representative of General de Gaulle, head of the United Movements of the Resistance and President of the National Resistance Council, was arrested by Klaus Barbie and the Gestapo, along with seven other Resistants in charge of the Secret Army in the southern zone, including Raymond Aubrac. The outcome of the arrest was tragic: Jean Moulin was tortured and died while he was being transferred to Germany.

Doctor Dugoujon’s house, which became the Jean Moulin Memorial in 2010, is registered as a National Historical Monument and as a Maison Des Illustres (Illustrious House). It has been restored so as to respect its original appearance, and is one of the most important and best-preserved remnants of the French Resistance in the Lyonnais region. It has been owned by the City of Caluire et Cuire since June 2014.

Nearby Sites

Caluire et Cuire

Mémorial Jean Moulin

Le 21 juin 1943, l’un des événements les plus tragiques de la Seconde Guerre mondiale a eu lieu à Caluire et Cuire, dans la maison du Docteur Dugoujon. Jean Moulin, représentant personnel du Général de Gaulle, chef des Mouvements Unis de la Résistance et président du Conseil national de la Résistance est arrêté par Klaus Barbie et la Gestapo avec sept résistants responsables de l’Armée Secrète en zone-sud, dont Raymond Aubrac. Les suites de cette arrestation furent tragiques : Jean Moulin fut torturé et mourut lors de son transfert vers l’Allemagne.

La maison du Docteur Dugoujon,... Lire plus

Voir les photos
Informations

Coordonnées

Adresse : 2, place Gouailhardou , 69300 Caluire et Cuire
Coordonnées GPS : 45.79937735 , 4.84622444086548
Tél :

04 78 98 85 26

Voir sur la carte
Visites
Exposition permanente :
Visite libre
Durée :
Visite guidée
Durée : 1h
Tarif : 2€ (gratuit pour les habitants de Caluire et Cuire, les mineurs et les anciens combattants)
Parcours de mémoire d'extérieur :
Balades urbaines dans les différents quartiers de Caluire et Cuire autour des hommages rendus aux résistants et maquisards dans l’espace public (noms des rues, plaques commémoratives et monuments).
Offres et évènements récurrents
JEP (visites libres du Mémorial et balades urbaines commentées) Entretiens de Caluire et Cuire Jean Moulin (entretiens pluridisciplinaires autour des valeurs de la République)
Informations pratiques
Jours et horaires d'ouverture :
Ouvert jeu. de 9h à 13h et sam. de 13h à 17h.(réservation conseillée). Fermé les jours fériés.
Thématiques & ressources
Thématiques
  • Mémorial
  • Maquis
  • Déportation
  • Répression
  • Lieux d’internement
  • Rhône
Labels
  • Maison des Illustres
Description complète du lieu

Le 21 juin 1943, l’un des événements les plus tragiques de la Seconde Guerre mondiale a eu lieu à Caluire et Cuire, dans la maison du Docteur Dugoujon. Jean Moulin, représentant personnel du Général de Gaulle, chef des Mouvements Unis de la Résistance et président du Conseil national de la Résistance est arrêté par Klaus Barbie et la Gestapo avec sept résistants responsables de l’Armée Secrète en zone-sud, dont Raymond Aubrac. Les suites de cette arrestation furent tragiques : Jean Moulin fut torturé et mourut lors de son transfert vers l’Allemagne.

La maison du Docteur Dugoujon, devenue Mémorial Jean Moulin en 2010, est inscrite à l’Inventaire des Monuments historiques et labellisée « Maison des Illustres ». Réhabilitée dans le respect de son aspect originel, elle constitue l’une des traces les plus importantes et bien conservées de la Résistance française dans la région de Lyon. Elle est propriété de la Ville de Caluire et Cuire depuis juin 2014.

Lieux à proximité