Ambonil

Vierge du voeu

Votive Virgin in Ambonil, at the west end of the town. It was to have been the first to be consecrated, on July 15, 1945, by the Bishop of Valence, Camille Pic, but on the morning of the inauguration, it was found broken in three pieces, so the plaster model was consecrated instead. The second version of the statue, sculpted exactly the same, was consecrated by Vicar General Alexandre Soulas on August 10, 1947. The Virgin and Child was sculpted by the Hartmanns.

 -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  

There is dual origin for the statues of Votive... Read more

See photos
Information

Coordinates

Address : Ambonil , 26800 Ambonil
GPS Coordinates : 44.794479 , 4.906279
See on map
Themes and resources
Themes
  • Monument
  • Drome
  • Local religious expression
Complete description of site

Votive Virgin in Ambonil, at the west end of the town. It was to have been the first to be consecrated, on July 15, 1945, by the Bishop of Valence, Camille Pic, but on the morning of the inauguration, it was found broken in three pieces, so the plaster model was consecrated instead. The second version of the statue, sculpted exactly the same, was consecrated by Vicar General Alexandre Soulas on August 10, 1947. The Virgin and Child was sculpted by the Hartmanns.

 -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  

There is dual origin for the statues of Votive Virgins, to be seen in a number of towns in Drôme. On July 9, 1944, in Die, Abbot Jean Bossan encouraged his parishioners to pray for the protection of the Virgin and to vow to build a statue in her honor if the town was saved. The Bishop of Valence-sur-Rhône, Monsignor Camille Pic, set in motion the movement in the département through the Religious Week of the diocese of Valence-sur-Rhône, Die and Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux on July 26, 1944. The vows would be taken on August 15, 1944, Assumption Day.

Making the statues was most often assigned to local or regional sculptors, such as Gaston Dintrat, the Hartmanns, refugees in Allex, Duilio Donzelli and his son Dante of Valence-sur-Rhône, the Bachini and Vermare shops from Lyon. The statues were of varied inspiration: crowned Virgins and child, uncrowned Virgins with or without haloes, Virgins of Lourdes, weeping Virgins, Virgins with a star, Virgins Our Lady of the Hearth. The list must be completed with statues from before 1944, that became votive Virgins afterwards.

Sources: "Semaine religieuse du diocèse de Valence, Die et Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux", 1945, p. 168 et 188 et 1947, p. 364 (MUV D 617 - ADD AP 55/15)

Information: Jean-Noël Couriol

Nearby Sites

Ambonil

Vierge du voeu

Vierge du voeu d'Ambonil, située à la sortie ouest du village. Elle devait être la première à être bénite le 15 juillet 1945 par l'évêque de Valence Camille Pic mais elle a été retrouvée brisée en trois morceaux le matin de son inauguration et c'est la maquette en plâtre qui a reçu la bénédiction. Une deuxième version de la statue, resculptée à l'identique, a été bénite par le vicaire général Alexandre Soulas le 10 août 1947. Cette Vierge à l'enfant a été sculptée par les époux Hartmann.

____________________

L'origine... Lire plus

Voir les photos
Informations

Coordonnées

Adresse : Ambonil , 26800 Ambonil
Coordonnées GPS : 44.794479 , 4.906279
Voir sur la carte
Thématiques & ressources
Thématiques
  • Monument
  • Drôme
  • Dévotion populaire
Description complète du lieu

Vierge du voeu d'Ambonil, située à la sortie ouest du village. Elle devait être la première à être bénite le 15 juillet 1945 par l'évêque de Valence Camille Pic mais elle a été retrouvée brisée en trois morceaux le matin de son inauguration et c'est la maquette en plâtre qui a reçu la bénédiction. Une deuxième version de la statue, resculptée à l'identique, a été bénite par le vicaire général Alexandre Soulas le 10 août 1947. Cette Vierge à l'enfant a été sculptée par les époux Hartmann.

____________________

L'origine de la statuaire des Vierges du voeu, visible dans plusieurs communes de la Drôme, est double. Le 9 juillet 1944, à Die, l'abbé Jean Bossan pousse ses paroissiens à implorer la protection de la Vierge et à faire le vœu d'ériger une statue en son honneur si la ville est protégée. L'évêque de Valence-sur-Rhône, Monseigneur Camille Pic, lance ensuite le mouvement départemental par le biais de la Semaine religieuse du diocèse de Valence-sur-Rhône, Die et Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux du 26 juillet 1944. La date du vœu est fixée le 15 août 1944, fête de l'Assomption.

La réalisation des statues est confiée le plus souvent à des sculpteurs locaux ou régionaux, tels Gaston Dintrat, les époux Hartmann, réfugiés à Allex, le père Duilio Donzelli et son fils Dante de Valence-sur-Rhône, les ateliers Bachini et Vermare de Lyon. Les statues sont d'inspiration très diverses : Vierges à l'enfant couronnées, Vierges non couronnées dotées ou non d'une auréole, Vierges de Lourdes, Vierges en pleurs, Vierges à l'étoile, Vierges Notre-Dame des Foyers. Il convient d'y ajouter les statues antérieures à 1944, devenues Vierges du voeu par la suite.

Sources: "Semaine religieuse du diocèse de Valence, Die et Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux", 1945, p. 168 et 188 et 1947, p. 364 (MUV D 617 - ADD AP 55/15)

Renseignements: Jean-Noël Couriol

Lieux à proximité