Montélimar

Vierge du voeu

Votive Virgin of the Holy Cross (Sainte-Croix) church in Montélimar. The vow was made on August 15, 1944, by Father de Guillon in Our Lady of the Rose church, the property of the de la Bruyère family. After the Liberation, Jean de la Bruyère refused to allow the statue to be set up. It was sculpted by the Hartmanns, and kept in the Saint-Croix church, where it was consecrated on October 26, 1947 by the Bishop of Valence, Camille Pic and found a permanent place in the choir on June 12, 1949, in the presence of the Bishop.

 -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  

Read more

See photos
Information

Coordinates

Address : Eglise Sainte-Croix, 12 rue Sainte-Croix , 26200 Montélimar
GPS Coordinates : 44.558595 , 4.750468
See on map
Themes and resources
Themes
  • Monument
  • Drome
  • Local religious expression
Complete description of site

Votive Virgin of the Holy Cross (Sainte-Croix) church in Montélimar. The vow was made on August 15, 1944, by Father de Guillon in Our Lady of the Rose church, the property of the de la Bruyère family. After the Liberation, Jean de la Bruyère refused to allow the statue to be set up. It was sculpted by the Hartmanns, and kept in the Saint-Croix church, where it was consecrated on October 26, 1947 by the Bishop of Valence, Camille Pic and found a permanent place in the choir on June 12, 1949, in the presence of the Bishop.

 -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  -=+=-  

There is dual origin for the statues of Votive Virgins, to be seen in a number of towns in Drôme. On July 9, 1944, in Die, Abbot Jean Bossan encouraged his parishioners to pray for the protection of the Virgin and to vow to build a statue in her honor if the town was saved. The Bishop of Valence-sur-Rhône, Monsignor Camille Pic, set in motion the movement in the département through the Religious Week of the diocese of Valence-sur-Rhône, Die and Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux on July 26, 1944. The vows would be taken on August 15, 1944, Assumption Day.

Making the statues was most often assigned to local or regional sculptors, such as Gaston Dintrat, the Hartmanns, refugees in Allex, Duilio Donzelli and his son Dante of Valence-sur-Rhône, the Bachini and Vermare shops from Lyon. The statues were of varied inspiration: crowned Virgins and child, uncrowned Virgins with or without haloes, Virgins of Lourdes, weeping Virgins, Virgins with a star, Virgins Our Lady of the Hearth. The list must be completed with statues from before 1944, that became votive Virgins afterwards.

Source: "Semaine religieuse du diocèse de Valence, Die et Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux", 1947, p.482 et 1949, p. 472 (MUV D 617/1947 - ADD AP 55/15 - 16)

Information: Jean-Noël Couriol

Nearby Sites

Montélimar

Vierge du voeu

Vierge du voeu de l'église Sainte-Croix de Montélimar. Le voeu a été prononcé le 15 août 1944 par le curé de Guillon dans l'église Notre-Dame de la Rose, propriété de la famille de la Bruyère. Après la Libération, Jean de la Bruyère s'oppose à la mise en place de la statue. Sculptée par les époux Hartmann et conservée dans l'église Sainte-Croix, elle est bénite le 26 octobre 1947 par l'évêque de Valence Camille Pic et installée définitivement dans le Choeur le 12 juin 1949 en présence de l'évêque.

____________________

L'origine de la... Lire plus

Voir les photos
Informations

Coordonnées

Adresse : Eglise Sainte-Croix, 12 rue Sainte-Croix , 26200 Montélimar
Coordonnées GPS : 44.558595 , 4.750468
Voir sur la carte
Thématiques & ressources
Thématiques
  • Monument
  • Drôme
  • Dévotion populaire
Description complète du lieu

Vierge du voeu de l'église Sainte-Croix de Montélimar. Le voeu a été prononcé le 15 août 1944 par le curé de Guillon dans l'église Notre-Dame de la Rose, propriété de la famille de la Bruyère. Après la Libération, Jean de la Bruyère s'oppose à la mise en place de la statue. Sculptée par les époux Hartmann et conservée dans l'église Sainte-Croix, elle est bénite le 26 octobre 1947 par l'évêque de Valence Camille Pic et installée définitivement dans le Choeur le 12 juin 1949 en présence de l'évêque.

____________________

L'origine de la statuaire des Vierges du voeu, visible dans plusieurs communes de la Drôme, est double. Le 9 juillet 1944, à Die, l'abbé Jean Bossan pousse ses paroissiens à implorer la protection de la Vierge et à faire le vœu d'ériger une statue en son honneur si la ville est protégée. L'évêque de Valence-sur-Rhône, Monseigneur Camille Pic, lance ensuite le mouvement départemental par le biais de la Semaine religieuse du diocèse de Valence-sur-Rhône, Die et Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux du 26 juillet 1944. La date du vœu est fixée le 15 août 1944, fête de l'Assomption.

La réalisation des statues est confiée le plus souvent à des sculpteurs locaux ou régionaux, tels Gaston Dintrat, les époux Hartmann, réfugiés à Allex, le père Duilio Donzelli et son fils Dante de Valence-sur-Rhône, les ateliers Bachini et Vermare de Lyon. Les statues sont d'inspiration très diverses : Vierges à l'enfant couronnées, Vierges non couronnées dotées ou non d'une auréole, Vierges de Lourdes, Vierges en pleurs, Vierges à l'étoile, Vierges Notre-Dame des Foyers. Il convient d'y ajouter les statues antérieures à 1944, devenues Vierges du voeu par la suite.

Source: "Semaine religieuse du diocèse de Valence, Die et Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux", 1947, p.482 et 1949, p. 472 (MUV D 617/1947 - ADD AP 55/15 - 16)

Renseignements: Jean-Noël Couriol

Lieux à proximité