Chaudes-Aigues

Stèle commémorative

Stone marker in memory of Jean Baron. After the fighting at Truyère on June 26-27, 1944, the Barons, Malric and Baffie, were hunting for weapons in the Bès gorges. The Germans were searching the redoubt and a patrol saw them. Malric and Baffie had time to empty their backpacks in the gutter, but not Baron, who still had a submachine gun and knew he was lost. The three were taken to Chaudes-Aigues for interrogation. Malric and Baffie were deported - Baffie died in deportation - and Jean Baron was executed by firing squad at Pratviel on June 28, when the Nazi troops left the redoubt.

The marker poses a historical problem: that of Jean Baron's... Read more

Information

Coordinates

Address : Lieu-dit Pratviel , 15110 Chaudes-Aigues
GPS Coordinates : 44.862007 , 3.012042
See on map
Themes and resources
Themes
  • Monument
  • Maquis
  • Deportation
  • Repression
  • Cantal
Complete description of site

Stone marker in memory of Jean Baron. After the fighting at Truyère on June 26-27, 1944, the Barons, Malric and Baffie, were hunting for weapons in the Bès gorges. The Germans were searching the redoubt and a patrol saw them. Malric and Baffie had time to empty their backpacks in the gutter, but not Baron, who still had a submachine gun and knew he was lost. The three were taken to Chaudes-Aigues for interrogation. Malric and Baffie were deported - Baffie died in deportation - and Jean Baron was executed by firing squad at Pratviel on June 28, when the Nazi troops left the redoubt.

The marker poses a historical problem: that of Jean Baron's connection with the FTPF (Franc-Tireurs et Partisans - one of several resistance organizations). Though there were fighter groups among those at la Truyère that were afiiliated with the Communist Party, it does not appear that any units were directly attached to the National Front or the FTPF. Jean Baron's mother, Mme Bernardie, wished for the FTPF acronym to be included as a tribute to the political view of the young man, though the Chantejall Free Corps, like the Truyère FFI, were Free Corps de la Libération.

Source: Association des Maquis et Cadets de la Résistance du Cantal

Nearby Sites

Chaudes-Aigues

Stèle commémorative

Stèle en souvenir de Jean Baron. Après les combats de la Truyère, les 26 et 27 juin 1944, les jeunes Baron, Malric et Baffie sont à la recherche d'armes dans les gorges du Bès. Les Allemands ratissent le réduit et une patrouille les aperçoit. Malric et Baffie ont le temps de vider leur sac tyrolien dans le caniveau mais pas Baron, qui a gardé une mitraillette et sait qu'il est perdu. Les trois jeunes gens sont emmenés à Chaudes-Aigues pour interrogatoire. Malric et Baffie sont déportés - ce dernier mourra en déportation - tandis que Jean Baron est fusillé à Pratviel, le 28 juin, lors du départ du... Lire plus

Informations

Coordonnées

Adresse : Lieu-dit Pratviel , 15110 Chaudes-Aigues
Coordonnées GPS : 44.862007 , 3.012042
Voir sur la carte
Thématiques & ressources
Thématiques
  • Monument
  • Maquis
  • Déportation
  • Répression
  • Cantal
Description complète du lieu

Stèle en souvenir de Jean Baron. Après les combats de la Truyère, les 26 et 27 juin 1944, les jeunes Baron, Malric et Baffie sont à la recherche d'armes dans les gorges du Bès. Les Allemands ratissent le réduit et une patrouille les aperçoit. Malric et Baffie ont le temps de vider leur sac tyrolien dans le caniveau mais pas Baron, qui a gardé une mitraillette et sait qu'il est perdu. Les trois jeunes gens sont emmenés à Chaudes-Aigues pour interrogatoire. Malric et Baffie sont déportés - ce dernier mourra en déportation - tandis que Jean Baron est fusillé à Pratviel, le 28 juin, lors du départ du réduit des troupes nazies.

La stèle pose un problème historique, celui du rattachement de Jean Baron aux Francs-Tireurs Partisans Français. Si effectivement dans les groupements engagés dans les combats de la Truyère figuraient des combattants affiliés au Parti communiste français, il ne semble pas qu'il y ait eu d'unité rattachée directement au Front national et aux FTPF. c'est la mère de Jean Baron, Mme Bernardie, qui a tenu à ce que le sigle FTPF soit inscrit, par fidélité à la pensée politique de ce jeune garçon, bien que le Corps franc de Chantejals, comme les FFI de la Truyère, soient des Corps francs de la Libération.

Source: Association des Maquis et Cadets de la Résistance du Cantal

Lieux à proximité