Treschenu-Creyers

Site historique

When the armistice took effect on June 25, 1940, nearly 100,000 young draftees barely through basic training were demobilized and left to their own devices. On July 31, 1940, a decree from Vichy created the Youth Worksites: "Article 1: The young men who entered regular army service on 8 and 9 June 1940 are mustered out as of the date of the present decree. Article 2: As of the same date, they are assigned for six months to the Youth Groups established under the authority of the Ministry of Youth and Family."

In Drôme, youth worksites people by young men from Ardèche brought new life to abandoned villages. Group 14 was headquartered at Die. In 1941,... Read more

See photos
Information

Coordinates

Address : Hameau de l'église , 26410 Treschenu-Creyers
GPS Coordinates : 44.67594 , 5.54673
See on map
Themes and resources
Themes
  • Maquis
  • Forced Labor Department
  • Youth Movements
  • Drome
  • Historic site
Complete description of site

When the armistice took effect on June 25, 1940, nearly 100,000 young draftees barely through basic training were demobilized and left to their own devices. On July 31, 1940, a decree from Vichy created the Youth Worksites: "Article 1: The young men who entered regular army service on 8 and 9 June 1940 are mustered out as of the date of the present decree. Article 2: As of the same date, they are assigned for six months to the Youth Groups established under the authority of the Ministry of Youth and Family."

In Drôme, youth worksites people by young men from Ardèche brought new life to abandoned villages. Group 14 was headquartered at Die. In 1941, a camp was set up at Creyers, a village that had been abandoned after World War I, and that would thus be given a new start. The young men rebuilt houses, repaired roofs, cleared brush, painted frescoes inside buildings, etc. The invasion of the unoccupied zone in November 1942 brought upheaval to the worksites: there were round-ups for departures to Germany. When the worksites became reservoirs of labor for the Germans, who quickly looked in that direction to build up the workforce for theSTO (Compulsory Work Service), many young men joined the ranks of the Resistance. Starting in 1943, a maquis was set up at Creyers.

Though it is ruins, it is possible to guess at that past in lanes and behind walls today.

Source: VIVIANI Axelle , « Creyers autrefois. Le passé d’un village abandonné du Haut-Diois », Terres Voconces, n° 4 - 2002

Chemins de mémoire

Archives départementales de la Drôme

Musée de la Résistance en ligne

Nearby Sites

Treschenu-Creyers

Site historique

Avec la convention d’armistice qui entre en vigueur le 25 juin, près de 100 000 jeunes recrues à peine incorporées se retrouvent démobilisées et livrées à elles-mêmes. Le 31 juillet 1940, un décret de Vichy crée les chantiers de la jeunesse : « Article 1 : les jeunes gens incorporés les 8 et 9 juin 1940 sont relevés à compter du présent décret de leurs obligations militaires d’activité. Article 2 : à partir de la même date, ils sont versés, pour une durée de six mois, dans des groupements de jeunesse constitués sous l’autorité du ministre de la Jeunesse... Lire plus

Voir les photos
Informations

Coordonnées

Adresse : Hameau de l'église , 26410 Treschenu-Creyers
Coordonnées GPS : 44.67594 , 5.54673
Voir sur la carte
Thématiques & ressources
Thématiques
  • Maquis
  • Service Travail Obligatoire
  • Mouvements de jeunesse
  • Drôme
  • Site Historique
Description complète du lieu

Avec la convention d’armistice qui entre en vigueur le 25 juin, près de 100 000 jeunes recrues à peine incorporées se retrouvent démobilisées et livrées à elles-mêmes. Le 31 juillet 1940, un décret de Vichy crée les chantiers de la jeunesse : « Article 1 : les jeunes gens incorporés les 8 et 9 juin 1940 sont relevés à compter du présent décret de leurs obligations militaires d’activité. Article 2 : à partir de la même date, ils sont versés, pour une durée de six mois, dans des groupements de jeunesse constitués sous l’autorité du ministre de la Jeunesse et de la Famille ».

Dans la Drôme les chantiers de jeunesse peuplés de jeunes Ardéchois vont redonner vie à des villages abandonnés. Le siège du groupement n°14 est installé à Die. En 1941, un camp s’installe à Creyers, village abandonné après la Grande Gerre, qui sera ainsi réhabilité. Les jeunes du groupement vont reconstruire des maisons, réparer des toits, débroussailler, peindre de nombreuses fresques sur les murs intérieurs des bâtiments, etc. L’invasion de la zone non occupée en novembre 1942 bouleverse les Chantiers : des rafles y sont opérées pour le départ en Allemagne. Alors que les Chantiers deviennent un réservoir de main-d’œuvre pour les Allemands qui ne tardent pas à y puiser pour enrichir les effectifs du STO, de nombreux jeunes rejoignent les rangs de la Résistance. Dès l'année 1943, un maquis est constitué au village de Creyers.

Aujourd'hui en ruines, le site laisse toutefois deviner au détour des chemins et des murs les traces de ce passé.

Source: VIVIANI Axelle , « Creyers autrefois. Le passé d’un village abandonné du Haut-Diois », Terres Voconces, n° 4 - 2002

Chemins de mémoire

Archives départementales de la Drôme

Musée de la Résistance en ligne

Lieux à proximité