Lyon

Plaque commémorative

Plaque in memory of roger Bréchan, who was one of the founders of a Resistance group in July 1940, structured around the SNCF rail depots at Lyon-La Mouche,Vénissieux, Saint-Paul, Oullins, Lyon-Vaise and Lyon-Perrache, in order to paralyze rail traffic. He was then an agent of the free groups of the Fifth Bureau of the Secret Army, where he ran a group of twenty-odd permanent members. He simultaneously set up a group of part-time members that continued their professional activity while assisting for specific actions.

On October 21, 1943, he was part of the commando action of the free groups that helped Raymond Aubrac... Read more

Information

Coordinates

Address : 1 rue Roger Bréchan , 69003 Lyon
GPS Coordinates : 45.751583 , 4.865599
See on map
Themes and resources
Themes
  • Commemorative plaque
  • Free groups
  • Deportation
  • Rhone
  • Sabotage
Complete description of site

Plaque in memory of roger Bréchan, who was one of the founders of a Resistance group in July 1940, structured around the SNCF rail depots at Lyon-La Mouche,Vénissieux, Saint-Paul, Oullins, Lyon-Vaise and Lyon-Perrache, in order to paralyze rail traffic. He was then an agent of the free groups of the Fifth Bureau of the Secret Army, where he ran a group of twenty-odd permanent members. He simultaneously set up a group of part-time members that continued their professional activity while assisting for specific actions.

On October 21, 1943, he was part of the commando action of the free groups that helped Raymond Aubrac escape. As a member of the national groups, he was arrested in Paris by the milice on May 5, 1944, and deported to Dora. He died at Buchenwald on February 10, 1945.

Source : Bruno Permezel, Résistants à Lyon, Villeurbanne et aux alentours : 2824 engagements, BGA Permezel, 2003.

Nearby Sites

Lyon

Plaque commémorative

Plaque à la mémoire de Roger Bréchan. Il participe à la fondation d'un groupe de Résistance en juillet 1940. Cette organisation se constitue autour des dépôts S.N.C.F de Lyon-La Mouche,Vénissieux, Saint-Paul, Oullins, Lyon-Vaise et Lyon-Perrache, pour paralyser le trafic ferroviaire. Puis agent des groupes francs Vème Bureau de l’Armée secrète, il anime un groupe d’une vingtaine de de permanents. Parallèlement, il met en place une filière de membres occasionnels qui gardent une activité... Lire plus

Informations

Coordonnées

Adresse : 1 rue Roger Bréchan , 69003 Lyon
Coordonnées GPS : 45.751583 , 4.865599
Voir sur la carte
Thématiques & ressources
Thématiques
  • Plaque commémorative
  • Groupes francs
  • Déportation
  • Rhône
  • Sabotage
Description complète du lieu

Plaque à la mémoire de Roger Bréchan. Il participe à la fondation d'un groupe de Résistance en juillet 1940. Cette organisation se constitue autour des dépôts S.N.C.F de Lyon-La Mouche,Vénissieux, Saint-Paul, Oullins, Lyon-Vaise et Lyon-Perrache, pour paralyser le trafic ferroviaire. Puis agent des groupes francs Vème Bureau de l’Armée secrète, il anime un groupe d’une vingtaine de de permanents. Parallèlement, il met en place une filière de membres occasionnels qui gardent une activité professionnelle mais peuvent apporter leur concours pour des actions ponctuelles.

Le 21 octobre 1943, il prend part à l’action de commando des groupes francs qui permet l’évasion de Raymond Aubrac. Membre des équipes nationales, il est appréhendé le 5 mai 1944 à Paris par la Milice. Déporté le 16 août 1944 à Dora, Roger Bréchan meurt au camp de Buchenwald le 10 février 1945.

Source : Bruno Permezel, Résistants à Lyon, Villeurbanne et aux alentours : 2824 engagements, BGA Permezel, 2003.

Lieux à proximité