Lyon

Plaque commémorative

Plaque in homage to Jean Long, an agent of the Coq enchaîné from 1941, he cared for resistants, distributed tracts and newspapers, organized armed and sabotage teams, searched for military intelligence, etc. He founded a structure to send wanted resistants to Chaperry in Haute-Savoie, and to provide them with false ID cards and provisions. 

In reprisal for attacks by the resistance, he was kidnapped on October 22, 1943 at his home at 18 cours Henri by a fringe group called National Antiterrorist Committee. He was tortured at Montluc prison, and his corpse was found at les Quatre Chemins in Feyzin, outside Lyon, with "Terror for Terror,... Read more

Information

Coordinates

Address : 18 cours Docteur Long , 69003 Lyon
GPS Coordinates : 45.748604 , 4.881806
See on map
Themes and resources
Themes
  • Commemorative plaque
  • Civil resistance
  • Repression
  • Rhone
Complete description of site

Plaque in homage to Jean Long, an agent of the Coq enchaîné from 1941, he cared for resistants, distributed tracts and newspapers, organized armed and sabotage teams, searched for military intelligence, etc. He founded a structure to send wanted resistants to Chaperry in Haute-Savoie, and to provide them with false ID cards and provisions. 

In reprisal for attacks by the resistance, he was kidnapped on October 22, 1943 at his home at 18 cours Henri by a fringe group called National Antiterrorist Committee. He was tortured at Montluc prison, and his corpse was found at les Quatre Chemins in Feyzin, outside Lyon, with "Terror for Terror, this man paid with his life for the murder of a Frenchman" inscribed on it.

Source: Bruno Permezel, Résistants à Lyon, Villeurbanne et aux alentours : 2824 engagements, BGA Permezel, 2003.

Carte des lieux de mémoire de la ville de Lyon

Nearby Sites

Lyon

Plaque commémorative

Plaque en hommage à Jean Long. Agent du Coq enchaîné depuis l’année 1941, il donne des soins aux résistants, diffuse des tracts et journaux, forme des équipes armées et de sabotage, recherche du renseignement militaire… Il fonde une organisation qui permet d’envoyer à Chaperry (Haute-Savoie) des résistants poursuivis, auxquels il fournit de fausses cartes d’identité et du ravitaillement.
En représailles d’attentats perpétrés par la Résistance, il est enlevé le 22... Lire plus

Informations

Coordonnées

Adresse : 18 cours Docteur Long , 69003 Lyon
Coordonnées GPS : 45.748604 , 4.881806
Voir sur la carte
Thématiques & ressources
Thématiques
  • Plaque commémorative
  • Résistance civile
  • Répression
  • Rhône
Description complète du lieu

Plaque en hommage à Jean Long. Agent du Coq enchaîné depuis l’année 1941, il donne des soins aux résistants, diffuse des tracts et journaux, forme des équipes armées et de sabotage, recherche du renseignement militaire… Il fonde une organisation qui permet d’envoyer à Chaperry (Haute-Savoie) des résistants poursuivis, auxquels il fournit de fausses cartes d’identité et du ravitaillement.
En représailles d’attentats perpétrés par la Résistance, il est enlevé le 22 octobre 1943 à son domicile (18, cours Henri) par un groupuscule baptisé Comité national antiterroriste. En détention à la prison Montluc, il est torturé. Son corps, retrouvé sans vie le 23 octobre 1943 à Feyzin (Rhône), au lieu-dit Les Quatre chemins, porte comme inscription « Terreur contre terreur, cet homme paie de sa vie le meurtre d’un national ».

Source: Bruno Permezel, Résistants à Lyon, Villeurbanne et aux alentours : 2824 engagements, BGA Permezel, 2003.

Carte des lieux de mémoire de la ville de Lyon

Lieux à proximité