Genas

Monument commémoratif

Monument in honor of the detainees from Montluc prison in Lyon shot down here on July 12, 1944. That day, twenty-two prisoners were taken from Montuc prison and driven in a truck escorted by two black cars to Genas, arriving at Bouvaret at about 7pm. German soldiers ordered them out of the truck in a field and opened fire with submachine guns, cutting down twenty men. The two others tried to escape by running through a hedgerow, but were also killed. The Germans left the bodies on the ground and went back toward Lyon. 

The monument in Genas was inaugurated on September 16, 1945. On July 7,... Read more

Information

Coordinates

Address : Chemin des fusillés , 69740 Genas
GPS Coordinates : 45.73642 , 5.051271
See on map
Themes and resources
Themes
  • Monument
  • Repression
  • Rhone
  • Armed Resistance
Complete description of site

Monument in honor of the detainees from Montluc prison in Lyon shot down here on July 12, 1944. That day, twenty-two prisoners were taken from Montuc prison and driven in a truck escorted by two black cars to Genas, arriving at Bouvaret at about 7pm. German soldiers ordered them out of the truck in a field and opened fire with submachine guns, cutting down twenty men. The two others tried to escape by running through a hedgerow, but were also killed. The Germans left the bodies on the ground and went back toward Lyon. 

The monument in Genas was inaugurated on September 16, 1945. On July 7, 1946, a plaque was erected at 9 cours Gambetta in Lyon, in memory of five officers of the United Youth Forces killed in Genas on July 12, 1944: Hugues Barange, Henri Debiez, Henri Denis, Pierre Poncet and Pierre Toesca.

For further information: Le Maitron

Nearby Sites

Genas

Monument commémoratif

Monument en hommage aux détenus de Montluc fusillés à cet emplacement le 12 juillet 1944. Ce jour-là, vingt-deux détenus sont extraits de la prison de Montluc (Lyon, Rhône). Ils sont conduits à Genas (Isère, Rhône) dans un camion escorté par deux voitures noires. Ils arrivent vers 19 heures au lieu-dit Bouvaret. Des soldats allemands les font descendre du camion dans un champ et tirent plusieurs rafales de mitraillettes, fauchant vingt hommes. Les deux derniers détenus tentent de s’enfuir en traversant une haie et sont également exécutés. Les Allemands abandonnent les vingt-deux cadavres sur place et repartent... Lire plus

Informations

Coordonnées

Adresse : Chemin des fusillés , 69740 Genas
Coordonnées GPS : 45.73642 , 5.051271
Voir sur la carte
Thématiques & ressources
Thématiques
  • Monument
  • Répression
  • Rhône
  • Résistance armée
Description complète du lieu

Monument en hommage aux détenus de Montluc fusillés à cet emplacement le 12 juillet 1944. Ce jour-là, vingt-deux détenus sont extraits de la prison de Montluc (Lyon, Rhône). Ils sont conduits à Genas (Isère, Rhône) dans un camion escorté par deux voitures noires. Ils arrivent vers 19 heures au lieu-dit Bouvaret. Des soldats allemands les font descendre du camion dans un champ et tirent plusieurs rafales de mitraillettes, fauchant vingt hommes. Les deux derniers détenus tentent de s’enfuir en traversant une haie et sont également exécutés. Les Allemands abandonnent les vingt-deux cadavres sur place et repartent en direction de Lyon. 

Le monument de Genas a été inauguré le 16 septembre 1945. Le 7 juillet 1946, fut également inaugurée une plaque située 9 cours Gambetta (Lyon, VIIe arr.), en la mémoire de cinq officiers des Forces unies de la jeunesse (FUJ), Hugues Barange, Henri Debiez, Henri Denis, Pierre Poncet et Pierre Toesca, exécutés ce 12 juillet 1944 à Genas.

Plus d'informations: Le Maitron

Lieux à proximité