Montélimar

Monument commémoratif

The snapshot was taken from the north side of 14 July 1789 street. The stone marker is in the middle of the round-about. Pierre Chabert street, leading to the station, is to be seen on the right. On the rectangular bases of the monument, where engraved plaques have been placed, is an imposing sculpture. In the right foreground, a path paved in red and white stone leads up to the monument, which is in the middle of a lawn, with flower-beds on either side. Behind the monument, shrubs and an umbrella pine create a dark background that sets off the work.

On the smallest of the marble rectangles, well up on three sides, is an engraving: To the memory... Read more

See photos
Information

Coordinates

Address : Rond-point des résistants et déportés , 26200 Montélimar
GPS Coordinates : 44.556958 , 4.744757
See on map
Themes and resources
Themes
  • Monument
  • Deportation
  • Drome
Complete description of site

The snapshot was taken from the north side of 14 July 1789 street. The stone marker is in the middle of the round-about. Pierre Chabert street, leading to the station, is to be seen on the right. On the rectangular bases of the monument, where engraved plaques have been placed, is an imposing sculpture. In the right foreground, a path paved in red and white stone leads up to the monument, which is in the middle of a lawn, with flower-beds on either side. Behind the monument, shrubs and an umbrella pine create a dark background that sets off the work.

On the smallest of the marble rectangles, well up on three sides, is an engraving: To the memory of the Resistants and Deportees. Facing the path: 1940-1945 Resistance-Deportation Remember May 27, 1995. The stone sculpture represents two clasped hands, rising above the barbed wire. On the left side, with the flame of the Resistance: To the Resistance 1940-1945. On the north side of the monument, not visible on the photo, To the Deportees to the Nazi Concentration Camps. The crest, on the initiative of the deportees, was created by Jean Koulisky, a friend of Mme Boisnard's, who survived the camps. "It was worn by French deportees," she commented, "an F in a red triangle." She went on to observe that the French deportees were labelled political prisoners by the Nazis. For ceremonies, guests stand to the right of the round-about as seen in the photo, that is on the East side. Speakers address them from the path, turning their backs on the monument, while the personalities with wreaths to place arrive along the path toward the center of the round-about, with all turned toward the monument, three sides of which are visible.

Excerpted from a text by Claude and Michel Seyve.

Source: http://museedelaresistanceenligne.org/media1889-Rond-point-des-RA

Nearby Sites

Montélimar

Monument commémoratif

Le cliché a été pris à partir de la rue du 14 juillet 1789, côté nord. La stèle a été érigée au centre du giratoire. On distingue, à droite, le départ de la rue Pierre Chabert en direction de la gare SNCF. Sur les socles parallélépipédiques de la stèle, où des plaques avec inscriptions ont été fixées, se dresse une imposante sculpture. En bas et à droite, un passage dallé en pierre rouge et blanche conduit au monument. Ce dernier est entouré d’une pelouse. De chaque côté, un parterre de fleurs l’embellit. À... Lire plus

Voir les photos
Informations

Coordonnées

Adresse : Rond-point des résistants et déportés , 26200 Montélimar
Coordonnées GPS : 44.556958 , 4.744757
Voir sur la carte
Thématiques & ressources
Thématiques
  • Monument
  • Déportation
  • Drôme
Description complète du lieu

Le cliché a été pris à partir de la rue du 14 juillet 1789, côté nord. La stèle a été érigée au centre du giratoire. On distingue, à droite, le départ de la rue Pierre Chabert en direction de la gare SNCF. Sur les socles parallélépipédiques de la stèle, où des plaques avec inscriptions ont été fixées, se dresse une imposante sculpture. En bas et à droite, un passage dallé en pierre rouge et blanche conduit au monument. Ce dernier est entouré d’une pelouse. De chaque côté, un parterre de fleurs l’embellit. À l’arrière du monument, des arbustes et un pin parasol constituent un fond sombre contribuant à faire ressortir l’œuvre.

Sur le plus petit des parallélépipèdes de marbre et à bonne hauteur, on peut lire, sur trois faces, des inscriptions "à la mémoire des Résistants et des Déportés". Face à l’allée : "1940-1945 RÉSISTANCE-DÉPORTATION SOUVIENS-TOI LE 27 MAI 1995". La sculpture en pierre montre deux mains serrées, comme s’échappant des barbelés. Sur la gauche, accompagnant la flamme de la Résistance : "À LA RESISTANCE 1940 – 1945". Enfin, sur la face nord du monument, non visible sur la photo : "AUX DEPORTES DANS LES CAMPS DE CONCENTRATION NAZIS". L’écusson, à l’initiative des déportés, a été réalisé en céramique par Jean Koulisky, un ami de Mme Boisnard – elle-même rescapée des camps. « Il était porté par les déportés français, précise–elle, signalés ainsi par le F dans un triangle rouge ». M.-L. Boisnard souligne que ces déportés français étaient considérés comme des « politiques » par les nazis. Lors des cérémonies, les invités se rassemblent à droite du Rond-point sur la photo, géographiquement à l’est, dans l’espace situé sur la droite, hors du cliché. Les orateurs parlent de l’allée, le dos tourné à la stèle et face à l’assistance, tandis que les personnalités chargées de déposer les gerbes empruntent l’allée décrite précédemment et se dirigent vers le centre du Rond-point, tout le monde ayant alors les yeux tournés vers le monument, qui présente en fait au regard trois éléments de sa façade.

Extrait texte de Claude et Michel Seyve

Source: http://museedelaresistanceenligne.org/media1889-Rond-point-des-RA

Lieux à proximité