Evosges

Ferme de Ternant

The Ternant farms served as hide-outs for Compulsory Work Service evaders and for on of the first maquis in Ain. From 1943, the upper farm was occupied by five STO evaders, four of whom eventually left to join the external Resistance through Spain. From July 1, 1943, the lower farm housed twenty-some men under the command of Jean Vaudun, aka Verduraz. After harboring local Resistance leaders (including Captain "Roman", the head of the maquis in Ain and Lucien Bonnet (Dunoir) and René Bousquet (Chabert), two regional Resistance chiefs) to celebrate Bastille Day July 14, 1943, the farm became a target and was burned down by the Germans on August 17, 1943.

After having... Read more

See photos
Information

Coordinates

Address : Ferme de Ternant , 01230 Evosges
GPS Coordinates : 45.9605 , 5.49742
See on map
Themes and resources
Themes
  • Maquis
  • Civil resistance
  • Persecution
  • Repression
  • Ain
  • Historic site
  • Armed Resistance
Complete description of site

The Ternant farms served as hide-outs for Compulsory Work Service evaders and for on of the first maquis in Ain. From 1943, the upper farm was occupied by five STO evaders, four of whom eventually left to join the external Resistance through Spain. From July 1, 1943, the lower farm housed twenty-some men under the command of Jean Vaudun, aka Verduraz. After harboring local Resistance leaders (including Captain "Roman", the head of the maquis in Ain and Lucien Bonnet (Dunoir) and René Bousquet (Chabert), two regional Resistance chiefs) to celebrate Bastille Day July 14, 1943, the farm became a target and was burned down by the Germans on August 17, 1943.

After having moved from one place to another several times, the Verduraz company moved into the upper farm on January 20, 1944. The farm, along with the neighboring house, was attacked by a German column on February 7, 1944. The maquis, who had decamped the day before, waited for the enemy to leave and came back to recover supplies hidden among the ruins. Two maquis, Bellamy and Bernachot, stayed on for a month, as Bernachot had a frozen foot. A hold-up was organized at the German railworkers' commissary in Ambérieu and provided supplies for the maquis, who left for good at the end of March 1944.

Source: Musée de la résistance en ligne

Nearby Sites

Evosges

Ferme de Ternant

Les fermes de Ternant vont servir de refuges aux réfractaires au Service du Travail Obligatoire et à l'un des premiers maquis de l'Ain. Dès mars 1943, la ferme d'en haut est occupée par 5 réfractaires dont 4 partent ensuite rejoindre la Résistance extérieure par l'Espagne. Dès le 1er juillet 1943, la ferme d'en bas abrite un groupe d'une vingtaine d'hommes commandé par Jean Vaudan, alias Verduraz. Après avois accueilli des chefs de la Résistance locale (dont le capitaine "Romans", chef des maquis de l’Ain et Lucien Bonnet (Dunoir) et René Bousquet (Chabert), deux responsables régionaux de la Résistance) pour... Lire plus

Voir les photos
Informations

Coordonnées

Adresse : Ferme de Ternant , 01230 Evosges
Coordonnées GPS : 45.9605 , 5.49742
Voir sur la carte
Thématiques & ressources
Thématiques
  • Maquis
  • Résistance civile
  • Persécution
  • Répression
  • Ain
  • Site Historique
  • Résistance armée
Description complète du lieu

Les fermes de Ternant vont servir de refuges aux réfractaires au Service du Travail Obligatoire et à l'un des premiers maquis de l'Ain. Dès mars 1943, la ferme d'en haut est occupée par 5 réfractaires dont 4 partent ensuite rejoindre la Résistance extérieure par l'Espagne. Dès le 1er juillet 1943, la ferme d'en bas abrite un groupe d'une vingtaine d'hommes commandé par Jean Vaudan, alias Verduraz. Après avois accueilli des chefs de la Résistance locale (dont le capitaine "Romans", chef des maquis de l’Ain et Lucien Bonnet (Dunoir) et René Bousquet (Chabert), deux responsables régionaux de la Résistance) pour célébrer la fête nationale du 14 juillet, la ferme d'en bas devient une cible: elle est incendiée par les Allemands le 17 août 1943.

Après avoir changé de lieu d'hébergement à plusieurs reprises, la compagnie "Verduraz" s'installe dans la ferme d'en haut le 20 janvier 1944. Celle-ci, ainsi que la maison voisine, seront à leur tour attaquées par une colonne allemande le 7 février 1944. Les maquisards, qui ont fui la veille, attendent le départ de l'ennemi pour venir récupérer le 10 février quelques vivres cachés sous les ruines. Deux maquisards (Bellamy et Bernachot) restent alors un mois sur place, le second ayant un pied gelé. Un coup de main est alors organisé à la coopérative des cheminots allemands à Ambérieu et permet aux maquisards de se ravitailler. Ceux-ci quittent définitivement les lieux à la fin du mois de mars 1944.

Source: Musée de la résistance en ligne

Lieux à proximité